Birthday cards #1 & #2 – Birds and Cupcakes

Hello everyone!

First of all, a few notes about this blog. I had a cardmaking blog on Blogspot for a while. It was nice there, there’s a large are for being artsy, but… I think it’s just a bit wrong for the things I am planning to do. WordPress is so much cleaner, simplier and nicer. I prefer to stay here for many other reasons as well.

Second, the name “Art Owlery” is something I am going to keep, because I love art and owls! Simple. I hope that later it will be a major project and will allow me to make my path into cardmaking.

Third, the cards themselves! This new blog is not the only restart, my whole cardmaking is! New techinques, new items, new ideas are coming, I practise them and think about them. So here we go.

Both of the cards were created for 2 friends of mine, very dear ones. They have birthdays upcoming and I tried my best to make something to cheer them up.

Cupcake Card

The pattern paper was taken from the Prima Hello Pastel 6″ x 6″ pad. Soft melting colours of paper make a strong association with something sweet.

For the cupcakes I’m using We R Memory Keepers Sweet Tooth Clear Stamps Set. Not sure if they are selling it now, I got it as a present from my friend.

The little sentiment comes from Simon Says Stamp What’s Brewing Clear Stamps Set, which I got with their October Card Kit. This stamp set can be stretched to any limits you put yourself to!

To make these sweet delicious things shine, I added some Wink of Stella Glitter with their brush. I just love this glitter brush, it’s very neat and makes the very shimmer you need on your cards!

Bird Card

A very simple clean card is made for a friend, who is very fond of birds.

The blue square is created using the Tim Holtz Distress Ink Salty Ocean.

The stamp set with the bird and a flower is Scrapberry’s Patterns and Bird Clear Stamps Set. I used my favourite black ink VersaFine Onyx Black, which is perfect for making silhouettes, lines and sentiments.

The sentiment comes from Dovecraft, not sure which collection though. It’s quite an old stamp set.

Thank you for reading and viewing my cards! Have a great day!

 

Julia

Leave a Reply

